FREE U.K. SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER £40! YOU CAN ALSO ORDER & PICK UP IN PERSON AT THE BOOKSHOP!

FREE U.K. SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER £40! YOU CAN ALSO ORDER & PICK UP IN PERSON AT THE BOOKSHOP!

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Search

Sweetness in the Skin by Ishi Robinson

9780241643037

Pumkin Patterson dreams of a life beyond her Jamaican hometown. But what we dream of and where we belong aren’t always the same thing…This heartfelt and uplifting story is for fans of The Girl With the Louding Voice and The Reading List‘A delightful, at times humorous story set in Jamaica, amid heartbreak, hopefulness, and mirth’ CHARMAINE WILKERSON, author of Black Cake ‘A tender exploration of familial love, both the family you’re born to, and the one you find along the way’ CHARLENE CARR, author of Hold My Girl--- For Pumkin Patterson, family is complicated.

There’s her mother Paulette, who ignores her. There’s her beloved Auntie Sophie, who her mother resents. And there’s her grandmother, who has always played favourites. Whenever tensions rise, Pumkin retreats to the kitchen - creating the Jamaican bread puddings and coconut drops that have always given her comfort.

When Sophie moves to France for work, she vows to send for her niece in one year’s time. But in order to follow her aunt, Pumkin has a mountain to climb. Starting with the question of how she’ll manage to escape her mother, and make enough money to get to Marseille.

Inspired by her skills in the kitchen, Pumkin turns to her community in the hope that she can sell enough sweet treats to bake her way out. But when her school and her mother discover her plan, everything she’s worked so hard for may slip through her fingers . . .

--- 'A dazzling coming-of-age novel set in the 1990s with an unforgettable heroine' Red'A treat from start to finish' SARAH HAYWOOD, author of The Cactus 'I read this book with my heart in my mouth, hoping all of Pumkin's dreams would come true' BREANNE MC IVOR, author of The God of Good Looks 'A story so rich and resonant I never wanted it to end' JULIETTA HENDERSON, author of The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman READERS ARE LOVING SWEETNESS IN THE SKIN 'This. Was. Amazing! I was hooked from the very first page.' Reader review 'Absolutely charming. I read it on one sitting, I just couldn’t peel myself away from the story of Pumpkin!' Reader review 'I enjoyed reading it and was rooting for Pumkin to find her way on her journey to herself' Reader review 'Funny and heartwarming. Highly recommend adding to your wish list of books to read next year' Reader review'I have not enjoyed a book as much as this for a VERY long time! This has everything for me that I want from a book' Reader review

,

Binding: Hardback,
Pagination: 368 pages

Search Results