Search

Welcome to the Harbour Bookshop!

Gift Wrapping Service

Kingsbridge and the South Hams - Currently being updated!

Literary Deliciousness & Recipes - Coming Soon!

Prize Winners - Currently being updated!

The Grace Year - Kim Liggett

'An incredibly important and empowering read' Natasha Ngan, author ofGirls of Paper and Fire

A New York Timesbestselling dark speculative feminist thriller, perfect for fans of The Power and The Handmaid's Tale.
_____________________________________________

THE RESISTANCE STARTS HERE.

No one speaks of the grace year.

It's forbidden.
We're told we have the power to lure grown men from their beds, make boys lose their minds, and drive the wives mad with jealousy. That's why we're banished for our sixteenth year, to release our magic into the wild before we're allowed to return to civilisation.
But I don't feel powerful.
I don't feel magical.

Tierney James lives in an isolated village where girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness - and each other - for a year. They must rid themselves of their dangerous magic before returning purified and ready to marry - if they're lucky.

It is forbidden to speak of the grace year, but even so every girl knows that the coming year will change them - if they survive it...

A critically acclaimed page-turning feminist dystopia about a young woman trapped in an oppressive society, fighting to take control of her own life.

WOULD YOU LIKE THIS GIFT WRAPPED? Please choose a gift wrap from the following designs!


We hand-wrap our gifts using museum quality gift wrapping paper and offering a hand written note in ink. Please feel free to choose a design below. We can send to multiple address and we do it all with care and attention - it's the closest you can get to wrapping the gift yourself.

Notify me when this product is available:

How We Give Back

We believe in giving back; We are proud to give 1% of all orders directly to environmental not for profit groups whose focus is the protection, preservation and restoration of our planet. This means every time you purchase from us, 1% goes directly to an environmental cause.

Search